New York State Administrative Law Judges Association

Neil Alexander Scholarship – Deadline 4/15/10

NAALJ offers two $500 scholarships to assist NAALJ members to attend a one-week resident course at the National Judicial College (NJC) in Reno, Nevada. The scholarship can also be used this year for the Administrative Law: Advanced course scheduled in Wilmington, Delaware from June 13-17, 2010. The deadline for applications is April 15, 2010.

Full details about the scholarship can be found at http://data.memberclicks.com/site/naalj/NAALJ_Scholarships.pdf.

Direct any questions to Judge Phyllis Carter at (304)558-2616 or Phyllis.H.Carter@wv.gov.

Beverly Thomas, Secretariat
1001 Office Park Road, Suite 105
West Des Moines, Iowa 50265
Tel: (515) 440-6057
Fax: (515) 440-6055

Model Code of Conduct for State ALJs Adopted by NYSBA

Dear Colleagues:

The New York State Bar Association (NYSBA) has adopted the attached Model Code of Conduct for State Administrative Law Judges (Code)*.

The Code’s drafters meant this as a resource and guidance document for State ALJs in dealing with ethical questions in the absence of any officially adopted ethics code for ALJs at the state level in NY. The drafters also wished to assure the independence of State ALJs in the hearing process. The New York Code for Judicial Conduct served as the major source for the provisions in the Code, although the drafters also consulted Executive Order 131 and the NAALJ Code for state ALJs.

With the Code’s adoption by NYSBA, the Executive Committee now presents the Code to the NYSALJA membership for your review and decision on whether NYSALJA should adopt or endorse the Code.

The Executive Committee makes no recommendation on this matter because many of the members of the Executive Committee were active participants in drafting the Code. We leave the matter to the NYSALJA Membership for your questions, preferences and guidance.

The Model Code is available online and can be viewed as a PDF file by clicking here.

James F. Horan
Administrative Law Judge
NYS Department of Health

[Ed. note — *Adopted and Approved by the NYSBA House of Delegates on April 4, 2009]


Current Officers

Hon. Raymond Kramer


Hon. Neil Tolciss
President Elect


Hon. Emily Georgiades
Vice President


Hon. Anne W. Murphy


Hon. Sallie A. Farrow


Hon. Edward R. Mevec
Immediate Past President


Search Upcoming Events Posts by Category