New York State Administrative Law Judges Association

Welcome To The Website Of The New York State Administrative Law Judges Association

Since 1976, the New York State Administrative Law Judges Association, a state affiliate chapter of the National Association of Administrative Law Judiciary, has been advancing the highest standards of neutrality and fairness among administrative law judges and advocating for avoiding any form of bias or discrimination in the hearing and decision making process.

In 2016, we celebrated our 40th anniversary. With that milestone, we reaffirmed our mission of promoting and advocating for improvements in the administrative process and procedures together with studying and comparing administrative law and practice in New York and other jurisdictions. Our association has provided and sponsored professional development programs, written to the Governor and key legislators on important policy issues, and many of the members of our Executive Committee were active participants in drafting the Model Code of Conduct for State Administrative Law Judges, which was adopted by the New York State Bar Association in 2009.

Looking ahead, we are just as determined today, as we were in 1976, to enhance the quality of administrative justice and to find innovative and effective solutions for the improvement of administrative processes, procedures and tribunals in the State of New York.

News, Articles & Announcements
of Interest to Hearing Officers and Administrative Law Judges

Lighten Up!

Technology FridayMy Apple iPhone 7 Plus weighs 188g. Add in a screen protector (a must), another 10g, for a total of 198g, or just shy of 7oz. Add in case that offers protection against serious drops, at least 50g, and a finger hold, like a Pop Socket, a ring holder, or a band of some sort, even more weight. As a practical matter, I’ve always favored cases that have a thin metal plate that work well with a magnetic car phone holder and magnetic finger grip. Even more weight. What I’ve been carrying around in my pocket weighs in excess of half a pound. Lugging around a very smart brick is too annoying a situation to allow to continue. Continue reading

1 2 3 72

Current Officers

Hon. Raymond Kramer


Hon. Neil Tolciss
President Elect


Hon. Emily Georgiades
Vice President


Hon. Anne W. Murphy


Hon. Sallie A. Farrow


Hon. Edward R. Mevec
Immediate Past President


Search Upcoming Events Posts by Category